• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New 500 owner advice

dstrahan

Copper BB
Hello all. My sweet wife got me a Mossberg 500 for Christmas after a year of telling her I wanted one. It's the stock gun, but it came with a pistol grip and both the long and short barrels. I'm fairly new to gun ownership (just got my first handgun about 6 months ago) and this is my first shotgun. Does anyone have any suggestions for other important/necessary accessories that I should get? Recommendations on ammo? Any general advice about this particular model that a newbie should know about? Thanks in advance!

dstrahan said:
Hello all. My sweet wife got me a Mossberg 500 for Christmas after a year of telling her I wanted one. It's the stock gun, but it came with a pistol grip and both the long and short barrels. I'm fairly new to gun ownership (just got my first handgun about 6 months ago) and this is my first shotgun. Does anyone have any suggestions for other important/necessary accessories that I should get? Recommendations on ammo? Any general advice about this particular model that a newbie should know about? Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the forum!

Your wife certainly made a good decision on getting you a 500, you just can't go wrong with a tried and true platform. Really, there isn't much to do other than buy some ammo (Federal value pack for practice and lots of it... And as many full power 00 buck/ slugs you can afford) so you can take it to the range and give her a proper break in.

First, give it a good cleaning and lube as you would any new firearm, then ditch that pistol grip (their a pain in the butt to controll and will wear on your wrist)... They have their place, but IMO not on a home defense/field gun.