• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

sighting in new 930 spx

schnacke

Copper BB
Good day,
I am picking up my new 930 spx in a couple hours and after cleaning it am hoping to go out to the range this weekend. I will be putting mostly buckshot and slugs through it for the first trip to help break it in. My ultimate goal for the gun is to be a home defense shotgun and also a fun range toy. My real question is, what distance should I sight it in for slugs that will not affect the shorter range of buckshot or even lighter birdshot? I am new to shotguns so if this is a really stupid question I apologize.
Thanks
-Schnacke

schnacke said:
Good day,
I am picking up my new 930 spx in a couple hours and after cleaning it am hoping to go out to the range this weekend. I will be putting mostly buckshot and slugs through it for the first trip to help break it in. My ultimate goal for the gun is to be a home defense shotgun and also a fun range toy. My real question is, what distance should I sight it in for slugs that will not affect the shorter range of buckshot or even lighter birdshot? I am new to shotguns so if this is a really stupid question I apologize.
Thanks
-Schnacke