• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Streamlight Polytac LED

CDM Gear

.22LR
I have posted this review before but thought it would be good here as well. The Polytac is a little smaller than most 1" lights, and since we redid the MOD-C (shown with the light) to accept the Surefire G2(not shown), spacers will now be included with every MOD-C clamp to accommodate this light. Below is the Streamlight Polytac LED with a CDM Gear MOD-C in the background.
polytac.jpg

Everyone asks me what light I like and recommend but not being an expert, I can only give a layman's view. I’m no expert on “lumens” and “throw” but the mechanical aspects of this little light really impressed me. A lot of people can tell you about the power, but I’m going to talk about how it’s made.

The Streamlight Polytac is an aluminum bodied light with a polymer coating on it. It has rubber seals on the bezel and the tail cap but the most impressive components are inside. In the picture below you will notice the inside of the tail cap on the left and the underside of the LED case on the right. Take your flashlight apart and compare to what you see if you like. The tail cap has a spring for the negative terminal of the battery but it is relatively small. Surrounding the spring is a rubber, fan fold gasket. These supply the cushion for the battery. Looking at the positive terminal you will notice there is no spring at all. It is a solid contact. In essence, the only suspension is the tail cap assembly with the spring and rubber gasket. The gasket is part of the suspension as it’s not meant to keep any kind of liquid out but it does add an extra level of firmness to stop the batteries from moving.
SPsuspension.jpg