• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New member, 11 year Mossberg 500A owner

Hello guys! I'm excited to be a member of this forum. I'm also an active member of kahrtalk.com and they're a great group.
I am enlisted, US Army, and a surgical tech.
I own a Marlin 30/30. I want a tactical rifle.
I own and EDC a Kahr PM9.
I am an expert marksman with the Army on M16 and Beretta M9.
I saved up all of my allowances until I was 11 to buy my very own Mossberg 500A.

That brings me to my very first question for you guys. I am tac modding my 12 ga. 500A for home defense for me and my wife. We will familiarize and everything after I modify it from stock, and in both configurations. But as I was looking over this site the past several Weeks, I came across a tid bit that mentioned in passing that an 18.5" barrel will not fit on my 500A without also changing the magazine tube.

Can anyone confirm or deny this, and or give me advice on what I should do?

Mods include an ATI Talon pistol grip stock and an 18.5" blued barrel with bead sight. I also bought an inexpensive light mount to mount one of my flashlights on it. My goal with this project was to achieve an effective home defense shotgun with minimal investment and I did it for $160. I will upload links to what I bought and a picture before and after within the week, in addition to a range report on my experience and the old lady's.

Help me out here guys.

~Austin