• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

28" or 30"

Heil

Copper BB
Another question. Would a 28" barrel be suficiante for trap shooting with the right choke or should I look for a 30" barrel? Never got this in depth with my guns before so I'm new to all this.

Thanks Agian

My personal thoughts are that a 28" would be perfectly fine. I am not a PRO at Skeet, Wing, Trap, whatever shooting by any means. I also think that a lot of it comes down to "Personal Preference" and how the shotgun shoulders, swings and shoots.

Either will work fine.

People like longer barrels for clays and wing shooting because they:
1. Give you more realestate to sight down.
2. They give you more weight out front which makes the gun swing a little smoother.

I doubt you will notice a difference between a 28" and 30" barrel, I can't and I've shot quote a bit of skeet over the years. I've shot most of my clays with a 26" barrel and never felt handicapped in any way. I've shot a little trap but mostly skeet.

Itsricmo said:
My personal thoughts are that a 28" would be perfectly fine. I am not a PRO at Skeet, Wing, Trap, whatever shooting by any means. I also think that a lot of it comes down to "Personal Preference" and how the shotgun shoulders, swings and shoots.

OK well I am a pro at clay games :lol:
Not really but I have won a few trophies and a bit of money shooting at those orange birds.

Itsricmo is absolutely 100% correct a 28" barrel will serve you fine starting out with all the clay games.
As you get better you will realize that if you want to get real good at any of the games then you will get specialized guns for each game.