• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

715t feeding issue?

egglocsta

Copper BB
Hello I am a newbie here and had a question about my new 715t tactical. I am having an issue with my bolt locking back every few shots. It's not stopping at the magazine it is actually locking back all the way open. This is quite annoying as I wouldn't mind letting off a rapid fire. Does anyone know a fix for this to avoid dealing with Mossberg CS? I really love this gun it is very accurate and I love the weight of it. Any suggestions or experiences with this problem?

i had the same problem, it got worse the more i shot. i got ahold of mossberg and sent it back. the replaced the trigger housing assembly

not sure how i missed this months ago...buuuuttttt...it came back with that issue fixed but would not eject. it went back to mossberg for a second time and i have since sold it, although it seemed to be fixed.

Feeding issues can be a few things, usually it is ammo. Some guns like one type of ammo some like another you will find this in many guns not just this one.

The main thing you want to watch out for with auto loaders is the tip of the bullet. The way the gun works it relys on the shape of the tip of the bullet to function correctly. If you try and use a bullet that the gun wont work with you will have issues. I foud hollow point or a flat or blunt tip on the bullet can cause issues in MANY auto loaders.

I realize that most defense and hunting rounds are designed to fragment so the hollow point helps but this can also cause reliability problems.

Try a solid point round first, second try a high velocity round. The high velocity rounds have a little more kick and help new guns cycle better till they get broke in. After about 100-200 rounds and a few cleanings inbetween the gun should loosen up and work flawlessly.