• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

#4 buckshot type/brand recommendations?

I have purchased my first shotgun for home defense, and I have decided to keep it loaded with #4 buckshot.
I live in an apartment so over-penetration is definitely a concern. It is an older complex, and there is no concrete/bricks in our walls.
It seems #4 buckshot is a sweet-spot between stopping power and penetrating power.
My question is: which brands should I consider, and what are the best types to keep from hurting my neighbors (i.e. reduced penetration, copper/nickel coated pellets, low recoil, etc)?

FWIW I have a 500 Persuader/Cruiser with 18.5" barrel.
Thanks!

That's one load I have no experience with but I can tell you in general copper and nickel plated pellets will usually penetrate deeper , low recoil will penetrate less.

RIO makes a good 12gage shell in both 00 and #4 and they are usually lower priced than other brands, if that's a concern. At apartment ranges you won't have to worry much about pattern spread, but avoiding collateral damage is largely accomplished by not missing the target. Even #4 will penetrate several layers of standard sheetrock, so getting sufficient practice is your best way to avoid harming neighbors. Don't expect the gun/ammo to make up for a lack of accuracy on your part. :)

Rio: http://www.rioammo.com/Gbuckshot.html

I'd recommend these two short & informative tutortials also:

Penetration: http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/bot3.htm

Shotgun Fighting: http://www.theboxotruth.com/docs/edu83.htm

^Thanks! First firearm forum I've joined so far!

oli700 said:
low recoil will penetrate less.

I have read that this can actually cause more penetration because the pellets won't mushroom/deform as much when it hits something. Is it now generally accepted low recoil will result in less penetration?

Howdy servo.