• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Hello from Central Florida

Hi all,

Ken here, from Lakeland, FL. I just joined last week, and made my first post here this afternoon.

I'm retired law enforcement and currently do investigations for an insurance company.

I've owned a Mossberg 185KA bolt action 20ga for about 42 years or so. I restored the gun and retired it to a gun case. It's beautiful old shotgun my dad gave me when I was a teenager, and he had it for many years before that. The gun is about 55-60 years old.

When I was a rookie in law enforcement, I carried a Mossberg riot gun for a few years until I bought a shotgun of my own (High Standard Flite King - chopped to 18.5"). I sold it when I left the job (not a good move on my part).

I own some pistols, but no HD shotgun. I must have one. In the next couple of days, I'm going to either purchase one at a local gun store, or order on-line. I plan on getting a basic 500SP, either a 50521 or a 50411 (both 5+1, one parkerized, the other blued). I'm having a hard time deciding between the two. I like the durability and look of a parkerized gun, but the 50521 has a pinned forend. The 50411 doesn't have a pinned forend, but it is blued. Too many decisions to make. This will be a gun that I take to the range for a test drive, then clean it and put it in the corner for HD.

It seems like a nice crowd here, with loads of info. This is a lot different than another forum where mentioning anything besides an 870 is considered blasphemy.

I'll see y'all around.

Ken

Welcome aboard!