• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Sight for my 590A1

BowtieBill

.270 WIN
Hey gang,
As a total noob, I do not know what, if any, sight I should add to my 590A1, model 51415.
http://www.mossberg.com/product/sho...al-purpose-tactical-light-forend-6-shot/51415
I only have the front bead sight that came with it.
I do not know what a Ghost Ring sight is, or what it is for, or if I need/want one.
Gun is for target and HD. Any advice would be appreciated.
Also, any other accessories? My Limbsaver should be on my porch when I get home tonight. Planning on picking up a case this weekend. Maybe add a sling.
Thanks,
Bill

Howdy Bill,

Best advice I can give is to take her out with the bead sight and see how she shoots for you. A bead sight is as simple as it gets for target shooting and HD. A Meprolight tritium (glow in the dark) bead may be a useful upgrade for low/no light situations, but other than that you should be good to go with a bead only set-up.

Ghost ring sights operate much like rifle sights by lining up the front sight post inside the rear ring on the receiver. They can add a bit of accuracy for shooting extended distances at the range, but are slightly more complicated than a simple bead sight. Adding GRS to your shotgun will require mounting a rear sight base on your receiver. You will also need to have a front sight post silver soldered to your existing barrel or buy a new barrel with the front sight pre-installed. If possible, try to get out to a few gun stores to see if there's a model with GRS for you to put your hands on. You may find that you like the sight picture, you may hate it.